• Русский
  • English

New Zealand, The South Island (photo)

The South Island or Te Waipounamu is the larger of the two major islands of New Zealand, the other being the more populous North Island. It is bordered to the north by Cook Strait, to the west by the Tasman Sea, to the south and east by the Pacific Ocean. The South Island covers 150,437 square kilometres (58,084 sq mi) and is influenced by a temperate climate.

Lakes (from centre to right): Wakatipu (S-shaped), Wanaka, Hawea, Ohau, Pukaki (brightest) and Tekapo.

New Zealand, The South Island